Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Voltage Drop
LocoBRD

posted on 21/5/09 at 08:15 AM Reply With Quote
Voltage Drop

Hi there,
I'm a newbie to this site for posting but have used it many a time to answers queries I've had over the last few months. This time though, I felt the need to post

I have an ETB DigiDash 2 installed and have found that the battery warning light keeps coming on when switching on the lights to dipped. It seemed that the voltage reading was showing 11.5V on the ETB.

The battery itself reads 12.2 at this point which I understand is usual. I have also checked the ignition as this is where the ETB is wired into and it also shows 11.5V.

Things I have also checked are the switch (replaced this) cables to the lights, relays etc and all are clean, no nicks, connections all solid etc. I have also disconnected the lights and still get this reading.

Has anyone got any idea why I get such a voltage drop at the ignition and any suggestions as to how I can solve this please?

I know the value of the battery minimum reading on the ETB can be lowered but I'm worried that as it reads differently to the actual battery voltage I won't be getting a true reading as such.

Sorry for the essay on my first post.

Thank for any help received

Guinness

posted on 21/5/09 at 08:17 AM Reply With Quote
Hi

Do you have a resistor in the ignition circuit? Lots of bike engined cars need one.

Mike

sickbag

posted on 21/5/09 at 08:28 AM Reply With Quote
Sounds like you've got a bad connection or two. Start from the battery and make sure all connections are tight and secure by disconnecting then reconnecting them.

Maybe a smear of Vaseline on some of the more exposed connectors too - just to help keep corrosion at bay.

Finally back on the job!

scotlad
Contributor

Posts 781
Registered 30/9/03
Location Edinburgh

Photo Archive Go!
Building: Built MK Indy Blade, RH 2b Zetec, rebuilding locos