Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Some questions (Control Arms, Shifter Arm, Hub)
Clay

posted on 5/5/05 at 01:58 AM Reply With Quote
Some questions (Control Arms, Shifter Arm, Hub)

I am new to locost building, but i am a Mechanical Engineering student with a basic education in chassis engineering. I've read Tune to win, and Engineer to win by Carroll Smith, Chassis Engineering by Herb Adams, and Build your own sports car 2nd edition by Ron Champion.

Here are some questions:

When using double wishbone A-arms can you make them un-cemetrical? Like, can one arm of the A-arm be longer than the other, or be at an offset angle? For packaging purposes?

Also, can some of you post your fixes for remote shifters? Ive seen a couple but would like to see some other fixes for shifter placement.

What spindles/hubs do the americans use since we dont have cortinas(spelling?) available?

And lastly, those of you who have photos of the progress of their build, can you please post them? Ive seen one or two photo diaries of their locost builds, but you can never see enough.

thanks

Clay Marsh

want2race

posted on 5/5/05 at 02:38 AM Reply With Quote
Firstly the fact you have a degree in that and dont know the answers leaves me fearing American engineering!

Secondly your options are limitless. go to yahoogroups and look for locost there is a massive listing of posts by various people.. all your answers are there!

www.want2race.net/lotus7/building

[Edited on 5/5/05 by want2race]

kb58

posted on 5/5/05 at 05:22 AM Reply With Quote
You need to read a few more books! Check out my list, here: http://www.kimini.com/Reference/index.html

If none other, read Staniforth's "Competition Car Suspension"

Also check out my site and other's for build pictures. I have a few remote shifter pictures buried in there somewhere... just go back a few years.

Mid-engine Locost - http://www.midlana.com