Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: What should I use?
matt_baxter

posted on 31/12/05 at 06:19 PM Reply With Quote
What should I use?

Hi, I thought I would ask the experts as its my first time making a locost.

Ideally I would like my locost to be bike engine driven but a lot of people I have spoke too (only a couple have any experience) recon that as it is my first time making a car that I should just try to make it as simple as possible and usethe engine and as many bits as posible from a sierra or something similar to try to make it a little easier

Could you please advise me where the best place to start is?

[Edited on 31/12/05 by matt_baxter]

kev R1

posted on 31/12/05 at 06:22 PM Reply With Quote
get a bike engine, job done

steve_gus

posted on 31/12/05 at 06:29 PM Reply With Quote
If you want a swift route, buy a partial kit such as the MK indy and use the sierra as you suggested.

One thing to take into account is what kind of car do you actually want?

If you want to scream everywhere at maximum power, and build a minimalist car with no windscreen, heater, spare wheel - basically a racer for the road - use a bike engine.

If you want to use the car for more 'orderly' driving, and long distance work, go the car route.

Seems this choice is important as it dictates the character of the car. BEC builders on here have regretted using a bike engine, others have not.

depends what you want.

If you feel that you only have a limited time and budget, go sierra and partial kit. At least with an Indy you get most of what you need in the sierra - a bike engine will cost 600-800 quid, then you have to make / buy adapters for prop shafts, engine cradles, etc.

A luxury would be to wait until a kit show comes up, and then ask around or look at whats on the stands.

atb

steve

http://www.locostbuilder.co.uk

Just knock off the 's'!