Board logo

SPIRE GTR mid engine options and opinions please
H7ERO - 28/11/11 at 09:08 PM

Im new to kit cars always been interested and bought magazines gone to shows etc, but never taken the plunge!
Iv done a lot of engine conversions in road cars, and after 10 years of road cars the time was right!

I still took a short cut and bought a ready built Spire GTR . .

Now I once built a bike engined powered suzuki cappuccino, admitidly I didnt work through all the problems, but after the few times i did drive it i just felt it wasnt for me

So out with the zx12R engine and in with some sort of car engine and id like your oppinions and experiences please!

heres the lineup of shortlisted engines:

(did i mention i like toyota?)

4AGEU 20v blacktop 4 throttle 165bhp 120kg corolla levin trueno

2zzGE 1.8 VVTLI 190bhp 115kg (all alloy) celica 190

1UZFE Lexus V8 all alloy 175kg 260 bhp

Most proabbly all mounted to an audi transaxle

Now do you think the V8 is just too heavy and torquey and would ruin the feel of the car on track? any experiences here?

Why would someone choose a 1.6 engine over a 1.8?

Should one not get too caught up in power/ weight / weight distrabition etc and just concentrate on building your own fantasy?

This is a trackday toy for me, Im an engineer by trade and love crunching the numbers, but thats not all that makes a great car, my greatest creations have been those which capture the imagination and relise your visions (even if they are insane!)

Any input would be apreciated, especially from those who have changed from CEC to BEC or vise versa, and those who run large heavy engine like the V8
and heres a pic:

the engine bay:

austin man - 28/11/11 at 09:28 PM