Board logo

Worryingly high oil pressure on Pinto engine
bumpy - 11/4/21 at 07:56 AM

Before being put into storage at the end of last Summer my car ran with normal oil pressures, generally about 50 psi when running hot.

For some unknown reason it now wants to run at 90 psi most of the time. Its like someone turned on a switch to just about double the pressure!!

I put in a new oil pump, two new filters, changed the oil from 20/50 to 10/30, tried two other oil gauges including a calibrated capillary gauge and took the head off to ensure no blockages to all accessible oil galleries.

Looks like I now need the experts. Please help.

cliftyhanger - 11/4/21 at 08:11 AM

Pressure relief valve stuck shut?
(I have zero Pinto experience, but all engines have a oil PRV to moderate pressure)

bumpy - 11/4/21 at 09:08 AM

Thanks, but as far as I know the pressure relief valve is part of the pump assembly, which was replaced in its entirety. Difficult to believe that both the existing and replacement pumps have the same issue

Does anyone know at what pressure the release valve operates?

rusty nuts - 11/4/21 at 09:15 AM

It will be a stuck oil pressure relief valve , it's the only thing to control the oil pressure

bumpy - 11/4/21 at 10:07 AM

quote:
Originally posted by rusty nuts
It will be a stuck oil pressure relief valve , it's the only thing to control the oil pressure

Thanks, but as far as I know the pressure relief valve is part of the pump assembly, which was replaced in its entirety. Difficult to believe that both the existing and replacement pumps have the same issue

Does anyone know at what pressure the release valve operates?

jacko - 11/4/21 at 10:23 AM

Just a guess is the pipe over the cam ok
I know you say the valve is new but that’s does not mean to say it’s ok
Did you swop the pump like for like not a high capacity
Graham

[Edited on 11/4/21 by jacko]

Mr Whippy - 11/4/21 at 12:56 PM