Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: bought a new toy
thomas4age

posted on 20/11/08 at 11:04 AM Reply With Quote
bought a new toy

Hey all,

it's been a while since I was on here, but I wanted to share something with you guys, mainly because I'm a novice in tig welding and need some help hihi.

anyway, some time ago I bought a second hand cebora pocket mig, for which I made a nice dolly to run it around, I got some nice compliments for the 6 wheel offroad cart, after which I promissed to pimp the cart one day,
well, I kinda did, or better build a new one completly out of aluminium, because I now can, (well sort off anyway)

last week I bought the first Gys digital 207 Ac/DC tig welder in the netherlands because I got a good price since it was their demo, they hadn't even taken it out of the box yet because I rang the shop the same day it got delivered, it was a bit of a guess but I think it's a good machine.
after doing some research on people stating that also this make is produced in china, I found out that Gys only has the battery chargers and things alike produced there, but the welding equipment still is manufactured in europe (germany and france).

so laying pratice beads on sheet alloy for a week got me conviced enough to make a new dolly for both the machines out of 15mm square tube aluminium, but D*mn is this difficult to do, the edges are the worst bit, which I think is all in positioning of the tungsten, which on my part still needs a lot of praticing. some welds look absolutly horrible, some look very nice I didn't change anything to the machine..... how come????
however 2 machines and a 10kg bottle of argon on the trolly and it didn't collapse yet.....

piccie time.

old cebora pocket Mig 6 wheeler
mig rig 6 wheeler
mig rig 6 wheeler

New ally wheels
aluminium welder wheels
aluminium welder wheels

and fully equiped
mig tig rig
mig tig rig