Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Ford Sierra Donors... They're either too far away or too expensive... debate
paul the 6th

posted on 6/2/09 at 10:12 AM Reply With Quote
Ford Sierra Donors... They're either too far away or too expensive... debate

I've been trawling ebay for suitable sierra's for about 2-3 months and everything I've come across is either 400-500 quid, or it's over 180 miles away (usually london or further south) = problem is it has no mot/tax and is unable to drive itself home. I really don't want to pay for a transporter as it will bugger up the cost..

As a result, I've started to think about maybe using a more readily available donor. The only pro seems to be that it'll be more readily available, but the con is that it will be significantly more expensive for parts & tuning components (such as for a mazda mx5 or e36 based bmw donor)...

Also, I've no mechanical experience of engines/gearboxes, and although one of the main attractions of the project is that it's a learning project (with a nice car at the end), I was keen to take the most established route through the project: pinto or cvh, type9 box, ford diffs etc... common stuff which as been done a million times

Can anyone point me in the direction of a suitable donor for under 200 quid which is near to york (within a hundred miles ish) or should I start saving and consider something crackers like a bmw?

GoDesign.me.uk - Self Adhesive Vinyl Artwork, Wide Format Printed Artwork and Customised Heat Pressed Clothing...

--------

http://picasaweb.google.com/haynesroadster - Roadster Photo Build Log

NOTE:This user is registered as a LocostBuilders trader and may offer commercial services to other users
Paul TigerB6

posted on 6/2/09 at 10:17 AM Reply With Quote