Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Newbie from manchester area
cooke80

posted on 22/2/09 at 09:22 PM Reply With Quote
Newbie from manchester area

Hello, i'm looking at starting to build a haynes roadster in the next few months. (It'd be nice to have it ready for my birthday at the end of september, but that won't happen).

I'm currenty looking at lock ups to build the thing, which isn't cheap. But the only option.

I'd like to use a xj as the donor, but being more sensible a pinto engined sierra is more sensible. And should still give a 180bhp/tonne car when finished.
Its all being done on a strict budget with 1k being the aim, i'm more about the go rather than the show.

Speak to you all soon.

daniel mason

posted on 22/2/09 at 09:25 PM Reply With Quote
1k will be tough i would think but im no expert.good luck
blakep82

posted on 22/2/09 at 09:32 PM Reply With Quote
my budget started as £1k... now 5 times over that, i've given up on a budget
actually, i don't know how much i've actually spent. think its less than 5k.

good luck, and welcome

IVA manual link http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/detail?type=RESOURCES&itemId=1081997083

don't write OT on a new thread title, you're creating the topic, everything you write is very much ON topic!

Steve Hignett

posted on 22/2/09 at 09:40 PM Reply With Quote
I think a budget of £2500 is achievable and prob less if you want to take a long time searching for free parts, but do not understimate what it's going to cost you!

ATB

cooke80

posted on 22/2/09 at 09:52 PM Reply With Quote
1k is a bit tight. But as long as i don't get distracted by shiny things i should be ok.
cooke80

posted on 22/2/09 at 10:02 PM Reply With Quote
Auto jumbles will be my friend for a while. :-D
pif

posted on 22/2/09 at 10:06 PM Reply With Quote