Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: master cylinder
vinnievector

posted on 4/5/09 at 04:04 PM Reply With Quote
master cylinder

Hi all ,
I have a sierra duel curciut master cyl and just want to confirm that the out let nearest the pedals goses to the front brakes and furthest to the rears for the correct brake balance .

40inches

posted on 4/5/09 at 04:35 PM Reply With Quote
Front to front, rear to rear, strangely enough.
However i would hold off fitting the brake pipes just now, because there is a possibility that the Sierra master cylinder will not pass IVA due to the requirement for the brakes to be split diagonally We will all know better after a few have gone through.

MikeR

posted on 4/5/09 at 04:40 PM Reply With Quote
requirement isn't for a diagonal split, but for if one circuit fails, the other circuit to provide at least 30% braking power.

The issue, as i read it on here, with the sierra m/c is that if you get a failure then the car, when braked, will pull heavily to the side with working brakes.

theconrodkid

posted on 4/5/09 at 05:13 PM Reply With Quote
they dont have to be diagonal,no other motor manufacturer makes them that way.
the port nearest the pedal is normally front,see if its marked "P" if so its deffo front,didnt you make a note when you took the doner to bits?

who cares who wins
pass the pork pies

40inches

posted on 4/5/09 at 06:07 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by MikeR
requirement isn't for a diagonal split, but for if one circuit fails, the other circuit to provide at least 30% braking power.

The issue, as i read it on here, with the sierra m/c is that if you get a failure then the car, when braked, will pull heavily to the side with working brakes.

Yea, you're right, my bad;

"09E Brake performance
The service brake performance must be at least 60%, (of the CLW or DGW as determined to be the highest) or more than half the road wheels lock.