Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Welding Problems- Help please!
RPS

posted on 23/3/04 at 09:00 PM Reply With Quote
Welding Problems- Help please!

I have been welding for 26 years, done all types, all positions, even taught basic welding for a while and never had a problem. Then I came to weld my chassis! After studying the welding threads, I decided that I could use my arc welder, with 2mm electrodes to make sure that I get adequate penetration without excessive heat.

Now I have never used 2mm rods before, never needed to (I work mainly with larger machines -agricultural), I bought myself a pack and started welding and here's the problem. As soon as do any fillet welding, the result is crap! The weld just sticks to either piece of metal, or both, but will not flow into a nice neat fillet. The weld pool just does not run like it should, you can see the flux getting in the way all the time. Directing the arc is difficult and you have to adjust the rod position to try to get it going in the right position.

I have tried every conceivable angle, amps setting, arc length, position and I can't get a decent weld. As soon as I revert back to 2.5mm its ok, perfect welds. I bought another pack of 2mm from a different supplier to see if that would work, as I have noticed that the flux was often burning away unevenly. This has made no difference, they seem to be the same.

My questions are:

1. Is it me or the rods?
2. Can I use the 2.5mm rods for the fillets and the 2mm rods just for butt joints (or will this cause too much distortion)?

By the way, don't suggest I buy a MIG welder, because I can't afford one!

I would appreciate your help before I spend another night wasting rods and metal.

Many thanks,

RPS

Peteff

posted on 23/3/04 at 09:22 PM Reply With Quote