Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Another Insurance Question...
Aidanb

posted on 8/4/04 at 05:28 PM Reply With Quote
Another Insurance Question...

Hi, i'm new here and intend to sometime in the near future get/build myself a locost.
What i'm wondering is if I have a normal car insurance policy and a kit-car policy and make a claim on neither of them in a year, have I earned 2 years no-claims bonus? An extra year at my age would REALLY help

alister667

posted on 8/4/04 at 05:44 PM Reply With Quote
I've been dealing with Adrian Flux and I have 4 years no-claims on my boring car - but they wouldn't give me any no-claims for my MK. They said that it's a different car and doesn't count. Seemed a little tight to me - surely it shows I'm a reasonably careful driver??
Anyhow, I'd expect you'd get 2 seperate 1 years no-claims for what you mention. Maybe having both the policies with the 1 company might help but I reckon it's a long shot.
Good Luck

http://members.lycos.co.uk/alister667/

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Aidanb

posted on 8/4/04 at 05:58 PM Reply With Quote
As i've just started a year on my everyday car with Norwich Union, I wouldn't expect to use them for kit car use aswell.

I was hoping basically at the end of the insurance year with the kit car, go with someone else and start fresh with a new company with 0 no-claims.

I would hope to transfer the no-claims from the kit-car policy to the everyday car policy

spunky

posted on 8/4/04 at 07:05 PM Reply With Quote
As far as I'm aware you can only use your NCD on one insurance policy at a time, so I suppose if you have two seperate policies you accumulate two years of NCD.
Thats how it works with my car and bikes.

I do know that most insurance companies will honour your NCD for a year without having any insurance.

surely the most cost effective method is to insure both cars on the same policy.