Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: PC software to draw 3D chassis model?
gasket999

posted on 13/3/11 at 02:53 AM Reply With Quote
PC software to draw 3D chassis model?

Hi there - I hope that I'm right in putting this querey in this section...

I'm starting to plan a new project and am struggling to visualise the chassis design. I'd like a computer program for my PC that will allow me to draw a 3D of the chassis rails. It only needs to be a very basic program - I've never used anything like this before and there's no way I could use a complex product like full Autocad.

The only specific needs I have is for me to be able to control the lengths of each piece of chassis rail by altering the real-world measurements - eg if i start by drawing the chassis and estimating a particular chassis leg to be 20" long and I later find out that it would be better at 25", I'd like to be able to have the software alter the picture if I alter the perameters.

Can anyone recomend such a program - either free or to buy?

Many thanks indeed folks.

McLannahan

posted on 13/3/11 at 07:15 AM Reply With Quote
Google Sketchup?

balidey

posted on 13/3/11 at 08:19 AM Reply With Quote
not on PC, but how about balsa wood.

Dutch bears have terrible skin due to their clogged paws

MakeEverything

posted on 13/3/11 at 09:16 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by balidey
not on PC, but how about balsa wood.

Good call. Balsa Wood and a glue gun.

Kindest Regards,
Richard.

...You can make it foolProof, but youll never make it Idiot Proof!...

MikeR
Contributor

Posts 8600
Registered 25/5/02
Location Hinckley

Photo Archive Go!
Building: Slowcost since 2000, speeduino since 2020, Caterha

posted on 13/3/11 at 10:04 AM Reply With Quote
I use kitchen wooden skewers with hot glue. Available from all supermarkets for very little. The advantage of hot glue is you can use the nozzle of the glue gun to heat up the joint and undo the joint.