Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Mini diggers?
garage19

posted on 21/7/04 at 02:03 PM Reply With Quote
Mini diggers?

I have this crazy idea of starting up my own small groundworks company!

Just a one man band kinda thing leveling gardens and digging extension foundations. I'm not out to make millions, just be my own boss and get out of the office environment.

My question is do I require any type of license to drive a small 360 digger; is there any weight/size restrictions where a license becomes needed?

Thanks,

Doug.

nick205

posted on 21/7/04 at 02:23 PM Reply With Quote
Don't know about legal requirements, but I do know that digger drivin' is ace fun!

Good luck in your ventures!

woodster

posted on 21/7/04 at 02:28 PM Reply With Quote
i've been hiring and driving diggers up to 13 ton for about 25 years and never had a license or been asked for one by the hire company ........ try phoning hewden hire part of there company is C.A.T they should know

cheers woodster

James

posted on 21/7/04 at 02:50 PM Reply With Quote
When my Sister was at primary school my Father was part of the PTA DIY group. One weekend they were in digging a pond and had a small digger.
My Dad stayed later than everyone else to finish off the digging (I suspect coz he was enjoying using the digger too much). Everyone was really pleased he'd stayed late to do the pond...

.... it was just a pity that in his enthusiasm he swiped the back of the digger into the wall of one of the classrooms...

.... and pushed the wall in!

James

mangogrooveworkshop

posted on 21/7/04 at 02:53 PM Reply With Quote
Its not the diggin bit thats a problem Its what you dig up thats the expensive bit.
We get stuff dug up all the time and they charge the damage to the company who did the damage. A fibre optic link 80 fibres cost 1800 thousand to repair ductwork and fibre + loss of service and road closure temp works orders.