Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: recommend a good knife sharpener
mookaloid

posted on 25/7/11 at 10:23 PM Reply With Quote
recommend a good knife sharpener

I do most of the cooking in our house and Mrs Mooky bought me some nice knives in a block last year. They should last me a lifetime but what's the best way to keep them sharp?

I have an old sharpening steel but either it is blunt or I am not very good at using it - can anyone recommend a good knife sharpener or method?

cheers

Mooky

"That thing you're thinking - it wont be that."

Ninehigh

posted on 25/7/11 at 10:29 PM Reply With Quote
DO NOT use glass chopping boards, great for hygeine awful if you like sharp knives.

Apparently the steel sharpner is generally pants because most people don't go along the angle of the blade, so they end up carving their own and it does very little to sharpen them.

I've seen some stone ones like a tiny yo-yo in the supermarket... I should get one seeing as ours are blunt as a baseball bat

austin man

posted on 25/7/11 at 10:31 PM Reply With Quote
kitchen devils do a couple of sharpeners

Life is like a bowl of fruit, funny how all the weird looking ones are left alone

wilkingj

posted on 25/7/11 at 10:46 PM Reply With Quote
Oh Dear

More skills being lost!

A Wetstone,a can of oil + the correct technique.
You get razor sharp knves and they last longer.

Best tip is to buy professional quality knives in the first place.
They are much better. They become cheaper in the long run.

Cuts from sharp knives heal more quickly as the cut edges of the skin are less ragged and knit up better. (more microscopic gaps in a garred cut from a blunt knife.

Always slide the blade away from the body / Hands etc. then if it slips you dont cut or stab yourself.

You know it makes sense.

1. The point of a journey is not to arrive.
2. Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive anyway.

Best Regards
Geoff