Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Diff and speed
Murphy

posted on 17/11/11 at 09:17 PM Reply With Quote
Diff and speed

I have an R1 engine and 4.4 diff. I have a 3.44 also. What's the differences for power, top end 0-60 torque and so on. I'm new to this but was hoping for a wee starter from the peeps in the know. Cheers , John.
mark chandler

posted on 17/11/11 at 09:27 PM Reply With Quote
What tyres, this is key.

First thing, bin the 4.4 for the 3.44, you want max speed just as the engine tops out, a 4.4 it will rev out early and waste first gear

Bare

posted on 17/11/11 at 09:28 PM Reply With Quote
Caterham owners who retrofitted Hyabusa engines typically went for 3: 2 or 3:07 (when they could find them) Diff ratios.
4:1 may mean real quick acceleration... to the 60mph top speed :-)

v8kid

posted on 17/11/11 at 09:28 PM Reply With Quote
Long diffs for cruisers short diffs for speedsters.

Thats about it I think!

Cheers!

You'd be surprised how quickly the sales people at B&Q try and assist you after ignoring you for the past 15 minutes when you try and start a chainsaw

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
wylliezx9r

posted on 17/11/11 at 09:29 PM Reply With Quote
Crikey with a 4.4 diff you'd be topping out at about 90 buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.
George Best

kevmcdo

posted on 17/11/11 at 09:32 PM Reply With Quote
Hi mate
Do a search for gear calculator that should give you a pretty close idea as it takes into consideration tyre sizes too. If can't find it give me a shout and I will email it too you.
If I remember off the top of my head though you should be looking at a top speed change from approx 90mph to around 125mph with a bit more time between the gear changes!!!

adithorp

posted on 17/11/11 at 09:37 PM Reply With Quote