Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Protected no claims bonus ?? Is it worth it ?
Andybarbet

posted on 20/11/11 at 09:58 PM Reply With Quote
Protected no claims bonus ?? Is it worth it ?

Ok guys & girls,

If i opt for protected no claims bonus on my insurance renewal for the tin top, the premium goes up £70 a year.

Anyone know if protected no claims is worth the money ??

I have 7+ years no claims bonus but if i had an accident would it help when i come to renew my policy if i had gone for the protected no claims option ?

Does it only work if an accident is not my fault ? i have been paying it for about 5 years but just thought i would ask the quesion on the Locost fountain of knowledge

lewis

posted on 20/11/11 at 10:05 PM Reply With Quote
It don't matter a shit,if you have a accident they will still load your premiums protected or not.

I am a driving god!..........sort of

MkIndy7

posted on 20/11/11 at 10:11 PM Reply With Quote
27 years old and just had my first accident, I stand to go from 7years NCD down to 3 as I didn't think it was worth protecting it £500 policy and £200 to protect my NCD.

Summerising on Churchill's insurance calculator if I was to have a 51 plate BMW 320D it would go from:
£796 7yrs NCD no accidents
£1062 3yrs NCD no accident
£1449 3yrs NCD 1 accident

So I sumise £200 for loosing my NoClaims and £300 for having an accident.
I'd get loaded with the £300 regardless for having an accident so protecting it still wouldn't have been worth it.

Mansfield

posted on 20/11/11 at 10:20 PM Reply With Quote
I have often wondered what protecting no claims actually means and if it is worth it, I always protect it but it is like insurance insurance from what I can see.

When switching insurance companies they want to know claims history, not whether I had a 'protected' claim.

Awaiting the replies on this topic with interest.

matt_gsxr

posted on 20/11/11 at 10:27 PM Reply With Quote