Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: end mills
robocog

posted on 3/12/11 at 07:28 PM Reply With Quote
end mills

I have a lathe and have started a project

I think I'm going to need to do some milling...which I have never tried before

I know jack about milling tooling so need some pointers before I go blowing money on stuff that will not be suitable

I think there are going to be 2 types of cut I will need to make (and I will try to describe them)

type 1 - where I will be "slotting" some holes that are open at the end (drilled hole elongated)
type 2 - where I will be slotting....but the end of the bit will be into material....bottomed out...flycutting stylee so I have a nice square cut

Would/could the same sytle "tooling" be used for both operations?

Material is quite soft aluminium alloy at the mo but I /may/ change to brass if my prototype works (although see no reason why it wont be suitable in alloy)

Size wise I need 5mm dia for the slotting tool that will be used for type 1
and 2mm dia for the type 2 (and some of the type1 cuts)

I'm not removing any great depth of material (2mm deep for the flycutting/bottoming operation) so I will be keeing the tooling as physically short as poss

will try and post pics as re-reading my explaination even has me confused!

Regards
Rob

tegwin

posted on 3/12/11 at 07:44 PM Reply With Quote
I have been having a play with milling cutters today on my lathe and drill press...

The weak link is the morse tapers that hold the chucks in...

I managed to cut a blind 16mm diamter hole 4mm deep into some brass in my drill press, but it didnt like it! Reallllly want a proper mill!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Would the last person who leaves the country please switch off the lights and close the door!

www.verticalhorizonsmedia.tv

Talon Motorsport