Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Diesel Engine???
Bob da builder

posted on 17/8/04 at 09:21 AM Reply With Quote
Diesel Engine???

Hey up

well after the harrogate show i have fallen in love with the `www.triumphspitfire6.com`. ita a GRP shell based on the le mans GT6 and i WANT 1!! i have been thinking of selling my locost and 1275 itilian job mini and having one more `practical` car which is more professional than a mini!!

my thourght is that a new diesel engine may be a good option for economy and performance (must be quiet, a classis with a diesel sound will be crap!!). any ideas what will mate up to a RWD with ease?? a zetec is a possiability, ford do a mondeo with a diesel so it it basically the same a the petrol, ie onto MT75 box??

im a novice to all of this `modern technology`as im in to x-flows and A series motors!

hopw would a 130bhp VW diesel go in??? any suggestions will be good!!

cheers bob

stephen_gusterson

posted on 17/8/04 at 09:55 AM Reply With Quote
many diesels have lots of plastic crap added over the engine to reduce the diesel noise.

in my diesel 320 beemer you wouldnt know it was a diesel inside. However, if you open a window there is a characteristic diesel noise, its just muffled from you internally.

the beemer diesel is acknowleged as the best on the market right now.

its strange how people see diesels as something worse than a petrol. there are some crappy petrol engines out there that a decent modern diesel more than pi$$es over.

Someone at work has an accord diesel, and again, you wouldnt know inside the car.

I think an open top (if it is open top) car would still have the 'diesel sound experience '.

atb

steve

[Edited on 17/8/04 by stephen_gusterson]

phelpsa

posted on 17/8/04 at 09:57 AM Reply With Quote