Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Donor car: Jaguar XJ6
Lawnmower

posted on 4/9/04 at 12:45 AM Reply With Quote
Donor car: Jaguar XJ6

Hi, bought 'The Book' a few weeks ago and got me thinking. Have noticed Jaguar xj6's are quite cheap, around £100-150 on ebay, but am not certain whether these would make a good donor.

I think the chassis would have to be leghthend and widedned, but are any other problems likley to crop up, ie weight distibution all wrong, too much power to weight, handling etc.

Any advice for a complete novice???

Arthur Dent

posted on 4/9/04 at 03:00 AM Reply With Quote
way too much weight! That inline six - although nice weighs more than more V8s

'The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong, it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair.' Douglas Adams

Smooth Torquer

posted on 4/9/04 at 06:44 AM Reply With Quote
It has been done already

I think it has been done before using a Luego Viento chassis, which is basically a scaled up version of a book chassis.

See here : Jag Viento (its the top one)

Cheers
Sam

JoelP

posted on 4/9/04 at 07:21 AM Reply With Quote
in my opinion, using it as a donor isnt completely foolish, but there are many better donors. As already said, everything will weigh loads more than smaller donor car parts. The size of the engine will make the build a little harder. Plus, the major killer IMHO is the fact that it will almost certainly be an auto. Crap for a 7 replica!

Viper

posted on 4/9/04 at 07:21 AM Reply With Quote
I have to ask....WHY??

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
stephen_gusterson

posted on 4/9/04 at 01:14 PM Reply With Quote
I had an xj-s that used the same runninf gear.

think.

do you want parts from a 1.8 ton car to make a 500kg sports car.

nope.