Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Any Sole Traders gone Limited on here?
fullpint

posted on 3/2/13 at 05:30 PM Reply With Quote
Any Sole Traders gone Limited on here?

Ive been trading for nearly 3 years now and my accountant reckons I could save money by going Limited? Im not at the £75K treashold.
Has anoyone on here gone from a Soler Trader to a Limited company and if so do you have any regrets?
I would appreciate your comments.
Cheers; Steve

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
coozer

posted on 3/2/13 at 05:31 PM Reply With Quote
I'm LTD and cant see any disadvantage. In fact more clients accept me over being sole trader.

1972 V8 Jago

1980 Z750

mookaloid

posted on 3/2/13 at 05:48 PM Reply With Quote
I would do what your accountant says. He knows your business and he is best placed to advise you.

There are other advantages to do with limiting your liability but if your accountant says do it then do so

"That thing you're thinking - it wont be that."

Slimy38

posted on 3/2/13 at 05:59 PM Reply With Quote
I went Ltd but it was IT contracts so it wasn't quite the same. As coozer says, there's lots of benefits over a 'sole trader' environment. And that 75k limit is purely an advisory for what HMRC consider it to be worthwhile, you can go limited below that.
BangedupTiger

posted on 3/2/13 at 06:03 PM Reply With Quote
Listen to your a accountant.

I'm guessing it's due to levels of profits, and the most tax efficient way to get these out the business.

fullpint

posted on 3/2/13 at 06:16 PM Reply With Quote
Profit levels are good and the business is still young but I cant see me invoicing over £75K for a couple of years yet. That way I don't have to add vat onto my prices which may push away some work.
Some valid points tho. Main one being taking the advise of my accountant! I guess thats his job and he will know best.