Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Looking for BEC seven styled kit advice
kingster996

posted on 3/1/14 at 06:43 PM Reply With Quote
Looking for BEC seven styled kit advice

Hi

I am new here and after a few weeks of lurking, decided to join and see if I can get some sound advice.

I have ridden bikes for over 35yrs and have built a few specials over that time as well as having a breakers in the 80s, so I have plenty of hands on experience with bikes and bike engines.

But I am kind of retiring from riding bikes due to fkd knees that won't take another spill (and I have no spare ligaments left to donate!), so seems like a logical step to try my hand at building a "seven" to help me with the withdrawal symptoms.

It also seems like a good plan to use a bike engine, as I love bikes, know a fair bit about them, miss the noise and am keen on track days and Sunday country lane terrorism.

However, I am open to suggestions and advice from more knowledgable people.

So, a couple of newbie style questions.

I have an initial budget of around the 5k mark - so bearing that in mind, what's a good affordable chassis and engine combination?

I will need to do it in stages due to cash flow, so engine then chassis or chassis then engine?

I can't weld to save my life, so need a pre built chassis and would be happy to buy a project that someone else has started - good plan?

I know a lot will always depend on quality of components etc and intend to upgrade as I go once my initial budget has gone, but can a BEC be done for 5k or am I dreaming?

Finally, SVA - how much do you need to allow for that or is it better to buy a previously sva'd project and strip it down to the chassis?

Thanks in advance!

Chris

jacko

posted on 3/1/14 at 07:02 PM Reply With Quote
Save your self some time and hassle and look at buying a car that has already been iva tested there is no sva now