Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Car Paint Repair Questions
Tatey

posted on 27/2/14 at 06:02 PM Reply With Quote
Car Paint Repair Questions

On the way back from work today I noticed quite a big scratch in my bonnet and as it's the first car I've had that's actually worth enough to car about I am looking to get it repaired. As I've never had anything like this repaired in the past I was wondering if someone could let me know how much it should cost me to fix? Also would a Halfords paint repair pen set be any good for this? From my research I've found that they actually seem to be alright, but as I've never used one before I would prefer some more opinions on them.

Below are a couple of pictures of the damage (I have no idea how this happened, but the car is parked on the street so I'm not sure if someone was decided to slide across my bonnet or if someone dropped something on my bonnet when I got the car serviced on Tuesday):

The top scratch is through to the metal and the bottom one is through to the primer, there is also a scuff to the right of it but I think this should T-cut out.

Mark Allanson

posted on 27/2/14 at 06:13 PM Reply With Quote
My job is pricing up bodywork damage, I cannot tell if the car is white or silver.

If solid colour (COB) then around £200+vat for a good job or £350+vat for a metallic which would include wing blends. Allow a little more for main dealer prices, anything less then you need to question the quality of work.

If you can keep you head, whilst all others around you are losing theirs, you are not fully aware of the situation

Tatey

posted on 27/2/14 at 06:17 PM Reply With Quote
Sorry, it's a Candy White coloured Golf like this one:

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_VCiaIPIRiAE/S4NMh2u2AnI/AAAAAAAAJeQ/B4MCdqJQ84g/s800/IMG_2961.JPG

Thanks for the reply Mark, I've emailed a few companies and I now have a figure to work from.

jossey