Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: diesel engined haynes roadster
MarshallArb

posted on 16/3/14 at 09:43 AM Reply With Quote
diesel engined haynes roadster

I am new to kit car building, personally, but have helped a few people with their builds. after many years rebuilding/modifying landrovers I am looking to build my own kit car as a new challenge.

Basically I know this idea of diesel enginges seems to be a taboo subject with kit car builders but, I do realise the many pitfalls with such an idea but I do have reasons!

my aim is to build a budget haynes roadster from the ground up using the standard sierra running gear outlined in the book.

where I differ is the intention to make it a daily drive so I.e. economical.

after all many more modern deisel engines are lighter than a 1.8l pinto! and can produce the same power.

wiring and ecu problems are not really an issue as a good friend cand do this sort of work!

my problem is how to mate a suitable engine to a type 9 gearbox or other suitable rear wheel drive gearbox. after a few engine conversions using adapter plates in other vehcles I dont think this should be too much of an issue, afterall people use k series engines and the like from fwd cars mated to a type 9 using adapter plates and a mix of clutch parts!

so why not a diesel?

any thoughts on this please coment! or equally has anyone done this?

scimjim

posted on 16/3/14 at 09:50 AM Reply With Quote
The lt77 and r380 will go onto the XUD (big boxes though), or use a RWD BMW setup? You can fit a type 9 to just about anything if you have the time/money/skill (although Caterham and Reliant did a K series to type 9 "factory fit", so that's easier than most )
CosKev3

posted on 16/3/14 at 09:55 AM Reply With Quote
There is a MEV car kicking about somewhere that's powered by a Ford TD out of a Focus IIRC.
Although I'm sure that used the orig Focus box due to it being rear engined.