Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: FINALLY time to buy my Indy
Calzonii

posted on 18/12/14 at 12:29 AM Reply With Quote
FINALLY time to buy my Indy

Havent been on here in a while! 2012 last time... However... The long awaited day has arrived as a newly qualified graduate I have just finished 9 months work and have FINALLY got enough cash to start deciding (once and for all) what to build!

With a budget of £12k between my mate and me we are planning on buying a duratec engine and an Indy R Kit... Has anyone on the forum built this before? I have rebuilt a few beetles and my mate is a mech eng so hopefully between the two of us we can figure out which way round the engine goes. Does this kit and engine sound simple enough for first time build?

Just wondering if anyone has any information on speed stats or previous experience builidng and MK with a duratec engine and how they found the experience? Even if anyone has any linnks to build diarys or any information would be great.

Thanks,

Cal

Alan B

posted on 18/12/14 at 01:44 AM Reply With Quote
Word of advice....

I'm sure your mate is a great guy, but be sure to have something drawn up to cover you both from whatever could happen.
Joint projects can go horribly wrong....

Other than that.....enjoy..

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
daniel mason

posted on 18/12/14 at 07:34 AM Reply With Quote
Some of the westfield duratecs I've sprinted with have been pretty quick!
INDY BIRD

posted on 18/12/14 at 07:49 AM Reply With Quote
Some good info here on tunning the duratec from sbd,

Link

http://www.sbdev.co.uk/History_files/History_DuratecTuning.htm

I had a Westfield with a duratec it was 255 bhp and would pull 140 mph easily but it depends on your gearing and I presume you will fit a type 9 gearbox?
It will be a quick car and they look a nice install

Remember to modify the sump or fit dry sump for track use