Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: to chop or not to chop that is
museumman

posted on 13/12/15 at 09:22 AM Reply With Quote
to chop or not to chop that is

In the 1970s I used to have a Rover 105s saloon chopped into a pickup with a harvey frost crane in the back it was brilliant.Last week a pizza delivery driver decided to write his car off on the back of my parked Mercedes W124 E class estate daily driver the only damage is tail gate and light lenses very strong car I didn't claim because my insurance company said it would be written off I am a motor trader. My transit tow truck is very rotten. Is there any legal reason why I cant build a pick up tow truck from the merc with the minimum fuss it is OM606 engine so unlimited power I plan to register it as recovery vehicle what do you think
jollygreengiant

posted on 13/12/15 at 09:51 AM Reply With Quote
I would think, IVA. Unitary body modifications.

Beware of the Goldfish in the tulip mines. The ONLY defence against them is smoking peanut butter sandwiches.

Dick Axtell

posted on 13/12/15 at 09:54 AM Reply With Quote
Recently saw an older BMW estate converted into a pick-up. So why not your old Merc?

However, you will have to maintain structural integrity of the bodyshell (unless there is a separate chassis?). Probably some form of "firewall" on the back of what will become the cab.

[Quote]I would think, IVA. Unitary body modifications.[/Quote]

And what he said.

[Edited on 13/12/15 by Dick Axtell]

Work-in-Progress: Changed to Zetec + T9. Still trying!!

mark chandler

posted on 13/12/15 at 11:09 AM Reply With Quote
Do'nt you need double wheels at the back these days if picking up a car?
theconrodkid

posted on 13/12/15 at 01:00 PM Reply With Quote
What Mark said ^^^^^,there is a weight limit on tyres,landrovers and single rear wheel transits were outlawed years ago for that very reason.

who cares who wins
pass the pork pies

perksy