Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Mk Indy Blade - oil window
paul1087

posted on 29/12/17 at 04:30 PM Reply With Quote
Mk Indy Blade - oil window

Hello all,

Recently collected my first kit car, it's a standard indy with 919 blade engine.

I'm totally new to bike engines so is all a bit of a learning curve!

This will probably be the first of many questions.

On this engine the sight window for the oil level is awkwardly located at the front of the car where it's out of sight.. ironically.

I have a spare 893 engine which has a dipstick, can I simply use this on the 919 as a far easier way of checking my oil level?

jossey

posted on 29/12/17 at 05:01 PM Reply With Quote
Depends on the sump used but if it's standard then yes you can the case of the engines are the same. Main difference between the engines are the gearbox and gear lever. I used a mirror and torch to check my level. Kept it near the top of the window above the line. Using the standard sump with baffle inside.

Thanks

David Johnson

Building my tiger avon slowly but surely.

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
paul1087

posted on 29/12/17 at 05:03 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by jossey
Depends on the sump used but if it's standard then yes you can the case of the engines are the same. Main difference between the engines are the gearbox and gear lever. I used a mirror and torch to check my level. Kept it near the top of the window above the line. Using the standard sump with baffle inside.

Great, thanks mate!

gingerprince

posted on 29/12/17 at 05:50 PM Reply With Quote
I'd be careful, I had 2 different dipstick blade engines with 2 different dipstick lengths, so there are differences in the casing.