Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Paint work
LBMEFM

posted on 17/1/18 at 10:20 PM Reply With Quote
Paint work

After being involved with cars all my life but with bodywork limited to the days of cellulose paint I am wanting to paint a new fibreglass spoiler. The question is how should I do it. I have a compressor and gun but what paint should I use etc. Cheers.
twybrow

posted on 17/1/18 at 10:33 PM Reply With Quote
Unless you have the correct hardware (air feed mask, extracted/filtered spray booth) etc, then I would avoid 2k paints, despite a lot of people having a preference for them. They are just not safe to use at home IMHO. Cellulose is fine, and works well, but is harder than 2k to achieve a great finish. The OEMs are all using water based systems nowadays, due to the elimination of VOCs (solvent based paint systems were banned in 2007). I have no direct experience of these newer water based systems, but there is a lot of info out there on how to use them.

For spraying on fibreglass, key up the surface and use an acid etch primer first (which is compatible with the top coat you plan to use).

LBMEFM

posted on 17/1/18 at 10:37 PM Reply With Quote
Thanks Twybrow
Barksavon

posted on 18/1/18 at 08:34 AM Reply With Quote
I've been looking at Rustoleum for my 1958 Austin A35. Can brush, roll or spray it on. Have a look online at Rawlins paint website, info on there.
I sprayed the car with cellulose about 5 years ago and within 6 months it started to crack all over. Imo Cellulose has had all the goodness taken out of it to comply with health and safety regs (although I'm no expert with a spraygun &#9786
Rustoleum is an anti rust top coat so may not be the best for fibreglass but the website is worth a look and they do reply to email requests for advice.

nick205

posted on 18/1/18 at 11:10 AM Reply With Quote