Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Welding?!?!?!?!
Will L

posted on 17/6/05 at 08:26 PM Reply With Quote
Welding?!?!?!?!

I'm a complete and utter novice when it comes to welding, well some say my electrcal soldering is like welding.

Iv'e read mig is simplest to learn, but to be honest im on a budget and arc welders seem to be much cheaper.

Is arc welding a skill which i could practice and self learn to a good standard, where i could make a chassis for example??

Cheers for any help

viatron

posted on 17/6/05 at 08:29 PM Reply With Quote
Your much better off teaching yourself MIG (Metal Inert Gas). MIG welders can be had at reasonable money from the likes of machine mart etc. Stick would be a bit to much for any thin wall stuff you want to need. Most people can get a decent MIG run with only a couple of hours preactise.

Mac

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
DorsetStrider

posted on 17/6/05 at 08:44 PM Reply With Quote
Mate I started my build on a budget too please learn from my mistake and DO NOT try to save a few pennies with an arc welder.... it will cost you pounds in the end as it's really not suitable for the wall thicknesses you are talking about using on the locost.

My advice look for Mig welders on Ebay I bet you could pick a second hand on up for the same or similar price as a new arc welder. I know I did and i've not looked back since.

now I'm just off to weld this final panel to my intergalatic star destroyer!

Who the f**K tightened this up!

Danozeman

posted on 17/6/05 at 09:35 PM Reply With Quote
Definatley mig mate. Arc is an arse to do and is not suited to this purpose.

Mig is a piece of cake. Theres plenty of decent second hand ones about in the freeads or loot etc. Thats the root im gonna take as mine has welded its last weld i think. Plus i want a more powerful one.