Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: backfire thru carb
Dave J

posted on 14/11/05 at 11:26 AM Reply With Quote
backfire thru carb

Hi all,
Sorry if this is all a bit basic but.......

Tried starting my Rover 3.9 V8 lump yesterday. Frightened me to death!!

Didn't start but I got an alarming backfire thru my carb (edelbrock performer 500).
I'm sure I saw some flame accompaning the fuel shooting out the top of the carb.

As I don't want to torch my engine, the question is this:

Could my ignition timing be so far out as to cause this? (HT leads one position out?)

My intention is to check the position of the rotor with the No1 cylinder at approx 8deg BTDC.
can somebody advise me on a quick and easy way to acheive this. I don't have any fancy DTI's that I can use in the spark plug hole.
This may seem sad but I'm a complete newbie on Rover V8's. Can anybody tell me the order of the inlet and exhaust valves when looked at the rockers?
Obviously I need to know when the inlet valve is opening with relation to No1 cylinder and ignition.
I've tried to identify by the inlet and exhaust manifold positions but it just isn't obvious.

For those of a nervous disposition, backfiring thru the carb aint funny

Any further ideas about how to sort the problem would be a great help and go some way to prevent the greatest bonfire since nov 5th

Probably a silly question but, how likely bearing in mind the above, is the possibility of my engine / fuel etc completely going up in smoke if I continued cranking after the first backfire thru the carb?

Thanks Guys

Dave

Tiger Super Six

posted on 14/11/05 at 11:40 AM Reply With Quote
I had the same problem on a pinto - it turned out that the dizzy needed to be turned 180 degrees.

Basically what was happening was that it was firing on the exhaust stroke and not the induction.

HTH

Mark

Tiger Avon

Gazza

posted on 14/11/05 at 12:06 PM Reply With Quote
Backdraft....