Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: plate allocation after private plate
pifular

posted on 5/12/05 at 11:28 AM Reply With Quote
plate allocation after private plate

please help settle a family -errrrrrrrrrrr- disagreement. I bought the trouble and strife some private plates for her tin top for xmas and after promptly fitting them binned the old ones. The father in law "i was a police officer for xx years and know all there is to know about everything" says that when the cars is sold or put back onto non cherished plates then i will need them as the car will revert back to its original plate.

i on the other hand thought that the old plate went back into the "pool" as it were, and when the time comes the car will be allocated another age related plate.

i have retreived the old plates from the wheelie bin to be on the safe side and told the father " I AM THE LAW" in law that I will check. can't think of any where better to check than here.

so one tell me I am right-please-

com'on, i had to root in the bin over this.

Howlor

posted on 5/12/05 at 11:41 AM Reply With Quote
I had a 944 for a while. I researched it's history through the DVLA and it had about 5 private plates throughout it's life. Each time it was sold it was given an age related plate but different to it's first one.
jimgiblett

posted on 5/12/05 at 11:47 AM Reply With Quote
When I bought my wifes car it had a private plate but the condition of the sale was to be kept by the seller.

It reverted back to it original registration which was nice as this matched all the early service history stamps.

Howlor

posted on 5/12/05 at 11:49 AM Reply With Quote
One all!
iank

posted on 5/12/05 at 11:50 AM Reply With Quote
I couldn't find anything on the DVLA web site about the car reverting back to it's old number (http://www.dvla-som.co.uk/home/en/FAQ/) but if it does/can revert, the back of the V750 should tell you.