Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: reasons to wear a helmet on sunny days.
Moorron

posted on 13/6/06 at 08:35 AM Reply With Quote
reasons to wear a helmet on sunny days.

ive only been driving my indy for a few months but i have started to drive it locally without wearing my helmet. I have to wear shades as i have only got a small screen.

But i found out a good reason to wear one at the w/e. Driving like a stole the car all day i went thru a section of road which had trees covering the road, i saw something fall (yes at stupid speeds, must have eyes like a hawk?!) it whacked me right on the conker giving me a nice nose bleed. lol.

i think it was part of a branch, but it sooned slowed me down a bit. (picture blood streeming past my cheeks and round my ears). lol

[Edited on 13/6/06 by Moorron]

Sorry about my spelling, im an engineer and only work in numbers.

David Jenkins

posted on 13/6/06 at 08:51 AM Reply With Quote
I admit to doing the same - just using shades for local journeys. Silly thing to do, as you're just as likely to get hit as on a long trip.

On one or two occasions - fortunately when wearing a helmet - I've jumped a mile as something has gone THWACK into my visor. I'm not sure if my shades would have stopped them, either.

David

James

posted on 13/6/06 at 09:32 AM Reply With Quote
Atleast get some of the shaded workshop goggles!

Foz and Stu have them I think... look like sunglasses but designed for high impact workshop velocity stuff.

People on here have lost teeth, had stones between the eyes and now a nose bleed. Someone soon is going to lose an eye.

Is it really worth not wearing protection?

Cheers,
James

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses, behind the lines, in the gym and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights." - Muhammad Ali