Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: donar advice needed
theohighland

posted on 2/7/06 at 10:08 PM Reply With Quote
donar advice needed

sorry to ask the same old question, but i am building a book chassis, but have a 2.0l dohc engine from a sierra donor.

Can anyone please tell me what problems i will have, and/or any other alternative engine and gearbox set ups that will fit with little or no modification to the chassis?

Sorry to be a nuisance but i'm new to the game!

jamesbond007ltk

posted on 2/7/06 at 11:36 PM Reply With Quote
The ford DOHC is a very good engine. it is built really solid and can take a lot of revs. Twin cams are the size of small tree trunks!

Biggest problem with the engine is that there are hardly any performance parts for it. Although, as standard they put out 125BHP (120 with CAT), so should shift pretty well. Its also lighter than a pinto due to having aluminium parts.

An other issue is with the fuel/ignition system. Should you choose to use the stock injection system (which is very good, weber fuel rail, fuel press reg. etc) you will have to be concious of the placing of the various sensors the engine needs, such as the MAP sensor.

If you do use the injection system would recoomend changing the injectors. I think it uses green as stock, would advise getting a set of grey injectors, as used on cossie.

Would recommend using a type 9 gearbox rather than the MT75 that the DOHC used in the Sierra.

As far as modifications to the chassis are concerned, the best advice i can give you is to build that chassis around the engine and box. Stick as close to the standard chassis as possible but move/add bars as needed. Do not have any less triangulation though.

Hope this helps

Rich

natehall

posted on 3/7/06 at 09:18 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by jamesbond007ltk