Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Arc or Mig?
Alfa145

posted on 28/7/06 at 08:10 PM Reply With Quote
Arc or Mig?

New owner of a secondhand locost here, bought fully built and reg'ed (cheated I know)

I'm looking for a welder, I have never welded before but need to learn to make a few adjustments, so nothing major, my budget is quite small about £150ish so I could get a low power mig, about 95amp gasless or a better quality arc but which would be best to go for? Which is easier to use/setup by a complete novice?

Cheers for you help

DIY Si

posted on 28/7/06 at 08:17 PM Reply With Quote
Gas mig. Easy to learn with and easier to use than gasless. Get something capable of 130-150 amps.
Alfa145

posted on 28/7/06 at 08:19 PM Reply With Quote
Cheers but for £150ish? I must be looking in the wrong places then
RazMan

posted on 28/7/06 at 08:20 PM Reply With Quote
As said, gas mig all the way

Cheers,
Raz

When thinking outside the box doesn't work any more, it's time to build a new box

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
DIY Si

posted on 28/7/06 at 08:22 PM Reply With Quote
Many on here will slate the SIP tiff, but I've done just fine with it. Even got it from halfrauds. Or you could ebay something? Someone will be along shortly with more ideas.
froggy

posted on 28/7/06 at 08:24 PM Reply With Quote
where are you? im sure someone near you will show you how to use one
Alfa145

posted on 28/7/06 at 08:25 PM Reply With Quote
Something like this then?

Linky...

bit more than I was looking to pay but as it's only for minor fixes and mods is a gas one worthwhile?

Alfa145

posted on 28/7/06 at 08:27 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by froggy
where are you? im sure someone near you will show you how to use one

Profile updated with my location

RazMan

posted on 28/7/06 at 08:33 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Alfa145

Linky...