Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: fitting twin webbers to 2ltr pinto
captain carruthers

posted on 9/8/06 at 10:28 AM Reply With Quote
fitting twin webbers to 2ltr pinto

Guys,
Im a total newbie to kit cars and have recentlly bought a completed Indy. Im thinking of upgrading the carbs as I think the one that is on the engine at the moment isnt performing too well. and of course i want it to sound bigger and better!!!

Question is how the hell do I go about it ?
I have seen some carbs on Ebay but not sure if they will be ok. Is it quite straight forward to fit the new carbs?
er any help would be great .

Cheers
Jim

02GF74

posted on 9/8/06 at 10:43 AM Reply With Quote
you'll need the correct inlet manifold.

depending on tune of engine, 40s may be ok, 45s more suitable, 48s

there may be some water plumbing changes needed plus possible vacuum pipe to distributor removed. oh, and the linkage for throttle and choke may need to be changed. and different air filter.....

(it is not rocket science for sure).

cadebytiger

posted on 9/8/06 at 11:33 AM Reply With Quote
I think somone is selling some 40s with manifold on this website. not sure what engine they have been run with (if it is a pinto of similat tune then you might get away with not changing the jets and such)

Remember also that if you have to disconnect the vacume advance you will need either and change of dizy or an ECU.

Rupert

mcerd1

posted on 9/8/06 at 12:18 PM Reply With Quote
How much do you know about your engine ??

which carb has it got at the moment ?
What cam does it have?
does it have the early block & head or the later injection type ? (injection heads flow better - injection block will have 205 cast into the side, injection heads have 'egg' shaped inlets)
has it had any head work done?

also have you considered bike carbs ??

MikeRJ

posted on 9/8/06 at 12:23 PM Reply With Quote