Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Bike Race Exhausts
MOz

posted on 1/1/07 at 04:27 PM Reply With Quote
Bike Race Exhausts

Ello,

I am a complete newbie and apologise now for my nievity!

I am looking to buy a pre built BEC, probably a Lotus 7 style (MK, Tiger etc).

Having owned many bikes in the past I was forever changing the exhausts for race cans just to pep up the performance, make em sound nicer and look a little better. Most of my bikes were FI running power commanders which would easily sort the fueling for the can.

If I wanted to fit a bike end can to a BEC (say an Akrapovic for example) what sort of problems would I encounter???

Thanks, not only for this thread but all the others I've read and confused myself silly!!

MOz

Jon Ison

posted on 1/1/07 at 04:37 PM Reply With Quote
Welcome.

Most BECS run race cans for the reasons you stated above plus the nice flames you get from time too time.

TBH, I have too fit a std(ish) can for track days due too noise and you probably noticed it on the bike too but it definitely shows up in a BEC, the std can gives more low down power and defiantly makes it more drivable at low speeds.

Hellfire

posted on 1/1/07 at 06:13 PM Reply With Quote
The beauty with a Power Commander IMO, is that you can easily upload a new map for different types of setup. You can have a quiet setup, using the standard bike can for trackdays where noise may be a problem and a louder setup using a race can, for road and dragstrips and the performance under both conditions can be optimised.