Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Help - Some Newby Questions
paulmw

posted on 26/1/07 at 03:59 PM Reply With Quote
Help - Some Newby Questions

Finally decided to build my first kit car and am going for an MK Indy. Ive just been to MK's workshop in Worksop and am sold. Help though:

1) What engine, R1, ZX12R or Blade (I want light and fast)

2) Probably gonna go for the new chassis and powder coating - is this recommended

3) Any tips would be useful.

I am looking forward to the build but am a little dawnted by the complexity - words of encouragement are welcomed

Cheers, Paul

macnab

posted on 26/1/07 at 04:04 PM Reply With Quote
1) oh god here we go!

2) apparenty

3) brace yourself...incoming!

think positive

did that help???

[Edited on 26/1/07 by macnab]

bodger

posted on 26/1/07 at 04:07 PM Reply With Quote
I've gone for the new chassis & I'm putting an R1 in it. I'm pretty new to all this myself but the R1 seems to come highly recommended for a fairly straightforward build. It's got a reputation of being reasonably bulletproof even in standard form & doesn't need dry sumping. I'm putting in a sump baffle & barnet clutch mod though just to be on the safe side. It should give out around 155bhp & weighs around 60kg.

Might be worth having a word with Malc at Yorkhire engines.

[Edited on 26/1/07 by bodger]

zxrlocost

posted on 26/1/07 at 04:07 PM Reply With Quote
r1 is a great all rounder

zx12r is becoming the best bang for buck at £1500 ish pounds

PLEASE NOTE: This user is a trader who has not signed up for the LocostBuilders registration scheme. If this post is advertising a commercial product or service, please report it by clicking here.

zxrlocost

posted on 26/1/07 at 04:10 PM Reply With Quote
my R1 MK

<---------------------

had 330bhp per ton

did 60mph in first gear or there abouts

and as long as your passenger isnt huge the performance basically stays the same as with 1 person in