Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Which chasiss
miniconverter

posted on 12/2/07 at 09:54 PM Reply With Quote
Which chasiss

Have just registered as I am interested in building a seven type car and am looking for some suitable plans that match the following criteria

I am six foot tall and weigh 20 stone
Want a true independent rear suspension (think I have seen this on a MK car)
Would like a sub 5 second 0-60
Don't really want a bike engine

I have been looking at the mcsorley 7+4 but this doesn't give any plans for a IRS
Looking at various possibilities for engines such as Vauxhall red top but might be a bit heavy or Japanese 2.0 litre 16V has anyone used an SR20DET out of a Nissan 200SX easily good for in excess of 200BHP
What ever engine I fit I will probably fit nos (incredible torque at the flick of a switch)

I have many years motor trade experience and we currently rent a workshop from a steel fabrication company so have access to cutters, benders, welders, huge flat metal benches and just about every thing needed to build the chassis.

Any ideas or info would be gratefully received. Thanks in advance.

PS I have built many quick cars in the past but no kits including cars which have been cover cars on magazines (see November 2006 Mini mag)

DIY Si

posted on 12/2/07 at 09:57 PM Reply With Quote
Firstly welcome!
Are you looking to buy or build a chassis? IIRC the MNR chassis is tested on there in house lanky bloke, so you should fit. The other, slightly wider option, is the Luego Viento chassis, which is more than capable of hiding V8's.

“Let your plans be dark and as impenetratable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt.”
Sun Tzu, The Art of War

My new blog: http://spritecave.blogspot.co.uk/

miniconverter

posted on 12/2/07 at 10:08 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by DIY Si
Firstly welcome!