Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Hello! Pointer please gents
Dangle_kt

posted on 2/8/07 at 11:10 PM Reply With Quote
Hello! Pointer please gents

Hi,

First post, been a reader for a long time and had plans for ages but thought I'd finally put a post up.

I am an avid biker, but with a baby on the way (my wife is due today, so if I don't reply - you know why!) I'm thinking of restricting my bikes to the track only, this leaves a pretty large road going gap to be filled by a locost project!

I am ok with a spanner - but only on bikes, a measure of my experience - top end rebuilds, clutch changes, bike stripped to major componants - but never split cases etc. but might attempt it with a bit of a safety net.

I can not weld or fabricate - so am a complete novice from that point of view.

I am on the very shabbiest of shoe strings, and despite checking my emails every 10 mins for the last two days (you think I'm joking!) I doubt I'll be fortunate enough to be given that free 75% build sooooooo....

Options

I am thinking part built abandond type projects - any words of warning?few concerns. If I buy a part build, will just ANY body work fit? and how hard is it to fabricate/weld stuff up?

Depending on price I am also thinking of buying a complete zx9r or blade, stripping them down and selling off all the parts I won't need - thereby getting myself an engine for nearly free - BUT, exhaust manifolds - how much are these? I am guessing the more mainstream (blade/zx9r/cbr 1000) the cheaper?

anyway - that the first of a very great number of questions I will be asking.

Thanks very much for the help in advance - this seems like a very knowledgeable forum, I look forward to getting to know you all better.