Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2    3  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Hello Newbie here
onzarob

posted on 24/11/07 at 11:29 PM Reply With Quote
Hello Newbie here

Hi all, found the forum today good reading.

I have always wanted a Lotus 7 and thought I would end up building a Caterham, but now I'm finally looking into it i feel Caterham have lost the ethos of the 7. I really fancy building a chassis from 30 metres (approx) of steel box, but I feel it would be a little time consuming

Therefore I really like the look of a Tiger Avon because of the IRS....but I still like the idea of live axle...oh time will tell.....

Well Hello all...see you about.

[Edited on 113030p://11076 by onzarob]

scotty g

posted on 25/11/07 at 09:31 AM Reply With Quote
Hi onzarob and welcome,
you have definately done the right thing by coming here first, there are loads of people here that will answeer just about any question you may have, be it car related or just about anything else actually!
The avon is a lovely looking car but some find it a little cramped plus many have commented on the poor quality of the bodywork.
Also the Avon is not the only one to use IRS.
The live axle route is a perfectly good one but its getting harder to find them nowadays.
your other option is de-dion, this uses IRS parts and converts them to behave like a live axle, kind of!
Cheers dude

donut

posted on 25/11/07 at 12:07 PM Reply With Quote
Nice Mini in your avatar.

Where you from?

Andy

When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/andywest1/

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Confused but excited.

posted on 25/11/07 at 04:58 PM Reply With Quote
Welcome dude!
See, I'm not the only one that's confused.

Tell them about the bent treacle edges!

onzarob

posted on 25/11/07 at 05:32 PM Reply With Quote