Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: clutch spring
adam1985

posted on 24/5/08 at 04:09 PM Reply With Quote
clutch spring

have been told that i need another clutch spring in the bec so went down to the local bike parts suppliers and asked them for one and explained what its for just to get a confused look back is there any where i can get one from on net or is there a specific thing i should be asking for its for a 06 r1 5vy
The Great Fandango

posted on 24/5/08 at 05:01 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Adam,

What is the problem with your clutch in order for you to be recommended a spring?

Have you taken the clutch cover off to see what setup you have because from what I've seen most of the R1 family have a set of 6 springs as opposed to 1 spring plus diaphragm.

I'm no BEC expert, but learnt a few valuable clutch lessons in my first few months of BEC ownership.

Most of the BEC crowd uprate the standard springs to something like a set of Barnett racing springs. They're not expensive at around £17 for the set and seem to keep the friction plates held a little bit tighter together. This results in a tighter feel of the pedal and less probability of the clutch slipping whilst flooring the throttle.

[Edited on 24/5/08 by The Great Fandango]

He Who Dies With The Most Toys Dies The Happiest

adam1985

posted on 24/5/08 at 05:08 PM Reply With Quote
no havent taken the clutch cover of was just told on here that i need a extra clutch spring think its to do with there being more weight in the bec then bike
adam1985

posted on 24/5/08 at 05:10 PM Reply With Quote
ps not even got the engine mounted yet just want to do everything to it first have already put sump baffle in and got new oil and filter ready go on just this spring but if its not needed then brill
The Great Fandango

posted on 24/5/08 at 05:16 PM Reply With Quote
Is this your first BEC?