Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Which MIG?
Gremlin

posted on 14/7/02 at 10:31 PM Reply With Quote
Which MIG?

I have been looking at all sorts of mig welders and have only ever done a little in the past. When i recall back im sure there was a gas bottle attached yet someof the ones i hve been looking at havent. Whats the difference and which is best?
john_s

posted on 15/7/02 at 10:09 PM Reply With Quote
I'm not an expert on welding (been teaching myself over the last few months).

General advice seem to be buy the highest amps output welder you can & get a botle of BOC's argoshield light gas (about £37/year rental on the bottle and £30 per fill), as it works out much much cheaper than the small disposable bottles.

I've never used a no-gas mig, but i understand that the welds from them are not as clean as gas mig welds.

HTH

John

--
John Singleton

merlin

posted on 15/7/02 at 10:24 PM Reply With Quote
I have had quite a bit of experience on welding and you really do need a decent high ampage set. Somewhere around 140 amps is good. Remember, your life is at risk so if you're not sure, ask a welder!! The results seen from a no gas welder leave a little to be desired as opposed to a 3 phase set! Don't think that a cheap welder will build a chassis. It may be OK for fixing the garden gate but we're talking about protecting you! Don't skimp on a welding set, If you're not sure, seek professional advice!

shit happens! (but why always to me!!)

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Simon Jones

posted on 16/7/02 at 09:45 AM Reply With Quote
You don't need a 3-phase set. A 150A set will run happily off a 16A mains supply - it'll even run off a 13A plug unless you want to do any really heavy work - and you don't want that much current for 3mm tube...
interestedparty

posted on 16/7/02 at 11:40 AM Reply With Quote