Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: smoking car after rebuild
Moorron

posted on 29/9/08 at 11:12 AM Reply With Quote
smoking car after rebuild

I am getting as fed up as you with my posts on smoking cars. But here is another!

Engine cbr1000f.

Put new pistons and rings in the car with hones bores (was suggested it would be ok to use standard sized pistons as the bores weren’t worn). Car runs fine but now after 100 miles i am starting to use more revs and when I do I get blue smoke from the exhaust, not a smoke screen but clearly cloudy in the mirror. Would a new engine do this until the rings have bed in after a few more hundred miles? I have even compression over all cylinders but it reads lower than the book suggest.

Will it get better or have I got a problem again? grrrrrr

cheers

Sorry about my spelling, im an engineer and only work in numbers.

Mr Whippy

posted on 29/9/08 at 11:38 AM Reply With Quote
do at least 500 miles then panic, takes ages for things to bed in. Don't thrash it and change the oil quite regularly. Best to just spend a whole day out in the countryside doing lazy driving, best way to run in an engine

Fame is when your old car is plastered all over the internet

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Moorron

posted on 29/9/08 at 11:52 AM Reply With Quote
lol 500 miles will take me 2 years.

ok i will put off my panic attacks ofr now. Lets see if the weather will hold out beofre winter sets in so i can see if my winter work is drinking or rebuilding.

Mr Whippy

posted on 29/9/08 at 12:13 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Moorron
lol 500 miles will take me 2 years.

ok i will put off my panic attacks ofr now. Lets see if the weather will hold out beofre winter sets in so i can see if my winter work is drinking or rebuilding.